Contact Information

James William Fesler Hall, built in 1938 as the State Board of Health Building, was renamed in 1959 to honor Fesler, the long-time former president of the IU Board of Trustees (1902-36). It became the state's Laboratory Science Building beginning in 1950. Today, it serves as an academic and research building, as well as the home of the School of Medicine administration, including the department of Anesthesia.

Phone/Fax/Mailing Address

☎ (317) 274-0275    Fax: (317) 274-0256     Pain Clinic: ☎ (317) 944-2891

Mailing Address:

Department of Anesthesia IU School of Medicine
Fesler Hall Room 204
1130 West Michigan Street Indianapolis, IN 46202-5115


Residency Program Director 

David Nakata, MD, MBA

Residency Program Coordinator

Mrs. Anita Batza
☎ (317) 274-0076


Pediatric Anesthesia Fellowship Program Director

Michael Acquaviva, MD

Anesthesia Fellowship Program Coordinator

Mrs. Serena Mahoney

Map of the Department

View IUSM Department of Anesthesia in a larger map

Campus Map